Hotel Alpina in Grindelwald
   Kreuzweg 9 - 3818 Grindelwald Kreuzweg 9 - 3818 Grindelwald     hotel@alpina-grindelwald.ch hotel@alpina-grindelwald.ch     +41 (0)33 854 3344+41 (0)33 854 3344  

History of the Hotel Alpina in Grindelwald


History of the Hotel Alpina in Grindelwald

Emergence of the hotel

The Hotel Alpina looks back on a long tradition and history. The Hotel Alpina was built in 1897 by the master carpenter Johann Bernet-Jossion an excellent site close to the railway station. In 1900, then owner M. Gsteiger-Baumann advertised the Alpina as a "beautifully situated hotel of the second order with fine wines and reasonable prices."
 

Change of the owner

In 1904, the Alpina was bought by Otto Wolter for 110 000 francs. He sold it just one year later to Mrs. Brommer Stiffler for 120 000 francs. The hotel fell on hard times before the First World War and went into receivership. In 1922, the community sold it to Dr Fischer of Bern, who used the hotel as a summer residence for his Elfenau Girl’s School. After his death, the residence was run by his widow.
 

New building

In 1945, the C.A. Kaufmann-Schlunegger family bought the Alpina. Time had left its mark on the old building, which was no longer worth the expense of renovations. It was torn down in 1972/73 and the current hotel built in its place. In 1983, the hotel passed to the family’s daughter Elsa, who continued to run it with her husband, Dieter Wolf-Kaufmann. In 1989, their son Thomas Wolf joined the family business, now in its third generation, working with his parents until 2007, when he took over the hotel’s management from them.
 
Excerpt from the book "From Mountain Village to Tourist Resort" by Rudolf Rubi, Hospitality-Alpinism, published by Sutter Printing Ltd – Grindelwald
 
Social Network & News - Connect with us:  
                 
    Hotel Alpina in Grindelwald Hotel & Restaurant Alpina at Twitter Hotel Alpina in Grindelwald at Youtube Hotel Alpina in Grindelwald at Instagram Hotel & Restaurant Alpina at Facebook Download Button  
                 
xxxx
xxxx
xxxx
xxxx

Hotel Alpina in Grindelwald
   Kreuzweg 9 - 3818 Grindelwald Kreuzweg 9 - 3818 Grindelwald     hotel@alpina-grindelwald.ch hotel@alpina-grindelwald.ch     +41 (0)33 854 3344+41 (0)33 854 3344  

Aus der Historie des Hotels Alpina in Grindelwald


Die Geschichte des Hotel Alpina in Grindelwald

Entstehung des Hotels

Das Hotel Alpina schaut auf eine lange Tradition und Historie zurück. An einer sehr guten Lage, etwas erhöht über dem Bahnhofquartier, wurde 1897 die Alpina von Zimmermeister Johann Bernet-Jossi erbaut. Als früherer Besitzer empfahl M. Gsteiger-Baumann 1900 sein schön gelegenes Hotel zweiten Ranges mit reellen Weinen und zivilen Preisen.
 

Besitzerwechsel

Aber schon 1904 wurde Otto Wolter neuer Besitzer; er zahlte 110 000 Franken und verkaufte es ein Jahr später wieder für 120 000 Franken an Frau Brommer-Stiffler. Aber der Pleitegeier ging auch hier um, noch vor dem Krieg musste die Gemeinde zum Rechten sehen. Sie fand 1922 in Dr. Fischer von Bern einen Interessenten, der das Hotel als Sommerfiliale seines Mädchenpensionats in der Elfenau einrichtete und führte. Die Witwe Fischer setzte dies fort.
 

Neuerrichtung

1945 kaufte Familie C.A. Kaufmann-Schlunegger die Alpina. In dem alten Haus lohnten sich grosse Investitionen nicht mehr, und so wurde es 1972/73 abgebrochen und das heute dastehende Haus errichtet. 1983 übergaben sie es der Tochter Elsa, welche das Hotel zusammen mit ihrem Mann Dieter Wolf-Kaufmann weiterführte. 1989 trat mit Thomas Wolf bereits die dritte Generation in den Betrieb ein und arbeitete fortan zusammen mit seinen Eltern, ehe er den Familienbetrieb im Jahre 2007 von ihnen übernahm.
 

Quelle: Auszug aus dem Buch von Rudolf Rubi: Vom Bergbauerndorf zum Fremdenort, Gastgewerbe-Alpinismus, Verlag Sutter Druck AG – Grindelwald

 
Soziale Netzwerke & News - Verbinden Sie sich mit uns:   
                 
    Hotel Alpina in Grindelwald bei YELP Hotel & Restaurant Alpina bei Twitter Hotel Alpina in Grindelwald auf Youtube Hotel Alpina in Grindelwald auf Instagram Hotel & Restaurant Alpina auf Facebook Download Button  
                 
xxxx
xxxx
xxxx
xxxx